Guava Cake

2015-04-26 21.59.38I was in a foreign language club in high school, which basically was a 35-minute meeting every Thursday meant for eating the foods of whatever region we were focusing on. For one particular meeting, we all made foods relevant to Mexico and South America.

I tried my hand at flan and actually struggled swallowing one bite during breakfast (I used double the condensed milk, and the thing was so sweet I almost got diabetes just in that one bite). One girl did it right—she made an amazing guava cake. I’d never tasted guava before and was completely awestruck, so much so that I was too lost in the cake to ask her how she made it. Womp.

Then I was in the grocery store a few weeks ago (yes, it took me almost five years to actually think to make this on my own), and I noticed guava nectar in the international aisle for under $2.00. Wow, was that a wake-up call.

I picked up the guava nectar, powdered sugar, heavy cream, and pudding mix (it’s my secret ingredient to most of my baked goods. See how I used it in this Collegiate Cook article.). Needless to say, I got it down. 


 

Yield: 6 servings

Active time: 15 min
Total time: 2 hours

Ingredients

Cake
1/4 cup heavy cream
1 cup guava nectar
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 cup butter, softened
2 cups sugar
3 cups flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
3 eggs

Icing
3 Tbsp. heavy cream
1/2 cup guava nectar
1/2 cup butter (1 stick), softened
2 cups (plus more to get a thick consistency) confectioner’s sugar
1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

Instructions
Preheat oven to 350° and grease and flour a 9×13 cake pan. Sift flour and baking powder in a bowl. Add nectar, heavy cream, butter, vanilla, sugar and eggs and mix with an electric or standing mixer. Pour into the cake pan and bake for 15-20 minutes or until golden. Cool completely.

Meanwhile, make the guava icing. In a bowl, beat butter, nectar, heavy cream and confectioner’s sugar until smooth and slightly whipped. Ice cake and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

