Chocolate Pots de Creme

received_10205071251914370I’ve recently moved into this phase in my soon-to-be graduate life where the late-night pizza after a night out just gives me heartburn, my ideal mid-afternoon snack is a good spicy hummus and I made the very adult decision to cut my Chinese food binges to Sundays.

But I will never give up chocolate.

If I had to choose between a million dollars and all the chocolate in the world, I can guarantee I would lean toward chocolate (so not adult of me). Okay, maybe I’d take the money. But only if I could spend a good portion of it on chocolate.

So the other day my friend and I were brainstorming ideas for our weekly column for Valley and were raiding my kitchen when I found some whipping cream, butter, eggs and chocolate. Oh man, is that a combo. Pots de creme it is.

PS: These things really are worth a million bucks.


Yield: 6 servings

Active time: 15 min
Total time: 2 hours

Ingredients
9 ounces bittersweet or semisweet chocolate
1 1/2 cups whole milk
1 1/2 cup heavy cream, separated
6 large egg yolks
5 tbsp. granulated sugar
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup confectioner’s sugar

Instructions
Place the chocolate (either chopped or whole if using chocolate chips) in a blender. In a medium saucepan on medium heat, whisk the milk, 1 cup heavy cream, egg yolks and sugar. Cook for about 5 minutes, whisking constantly until the mixture coats the whisk.

Pour mixture into the blender, cover the lid with a kitchen towel and blend until smooth. Divide the chocolate mixture into 6 small mugs or ramekins. Refrigerate until set, about 2 hours.

Meanwhile, whip remaining heavy cream and confectioner’s sugar with a blender or mixer until soft peaks form. Store in refrigerator until pots are set, then top. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

